BooksPeopleBook ClubsReading RoomsTopicsYearISBNPublisher
The Fortune of the Rougons

The Fortune of the Rougons

Writing Stage
Published On
Published By
Be the first to request Request book
La fortuna de los Rougon (1871) es la primera novela de la serie Les Rougon Macquart, de Émile Zola.
La historia comienza con Adelaida Touque, hija de campesinos acomodados, que vive en una ciudad de la región de Provenza llamada Plassans (trasunto de Aix-en-Provence y de Lorgues). Adelaida se

Featured paragraphs from this book

Share this book

About Author

Émile François Zola was an influential French novelist, the most important example of the literary school of naturalism, and a major figure in the political liberalization of France.

More than half of Zola's novels were part of a set of 20 books collectively known as Les Rougon-Macquart. Unlike Balzac who in the midst of his literary career resynthesized his work into La Comédie Humaine, Zola from the start at the age of 28 had thought of the complete layout of the series. Set in Fra